Final Moto3 point goes to Zulfahmi Khairuddin for Ongetta-AirAsia in 15th. 
Zulfahmi Khairuddin scored another point as he managed to pip in the 15th position for the Moto3 Indianapolis Motor Speedway which was won by Efren Vazquez who snatched the Moto3 victory at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, his straight line speed helping him claim the top spot on the podium in his 116th race. Efren Vazquez lead a ten-strong pack of riders over the famous yard of bricks for his first win in the Moto3.
Losing out was Sky Racing Team VR46 rider Romano Fenati, just 0.065 behind the Spaniard, whose straight line speed on the RTG Honda could not be contained. The Italian weaved across the track to try to hold position when he led out of the final corner but could not halt or beat the pace of Vazquez.
It is Fenati’s first podium since Catalunya despite suffering from tyre wear throughout the race.

The rostrum was completed by fellow KTM rider Jack Miller, whose podium finish kept him happy, extending his championship lead to 21 points with race winner Vazquez moving into second, 21 points behind the Australian.

With seven riders in contention in the early laps, the leading group expanded as the race drew to a close when Masbou, Oliveira and Kornfeil joined in at the front. With the lead changing repeatedly as the laps counted down the race result was far from decided with it all coming down to the final lap.

Class veteran Alexis Masbou made tremendous progress after being pushed wide in an opening lap incident at turn four for Ongetta-Rivacold. The Frenchman put himself in contention for the podium places, eventually being forced to settle for fourth after trading places with Miller.

Alex Rins made a dramatic improvement on race day. After qualifying down in 12th the Estrella Galicia rider battled back to take fifth, one place ahead of his team-mate Alex Marquez, who drops to third in the championship standings.

Miguel Oliveira had a strong late showing as he pushed forward for seventh, the best of the Mahindra riders.

Charging Juanfran Guevara capitalised on his best ever qualifying and held pace with the leaders, always present on the tail of the original leading group of seven racers to equal his best ever finish for Mapfre Aspar.

Brad Binder took ninth for Ambrogio racing while the last of the leading group to take the flag was Team Calvo’s Jakub Kornfeil in tenth.

Just missing out on a top ten finish was the chasing Enea Bastianini in eleventh for Junior Team Go & Fun who crossed the line a second before Danny Kent in twelfth aboard the Husqvarna. Karel Hanika finished 13th for Red Bull KTM Ajo.

Jorge Navarro took a gamble in his first race for the Marc VDS team, breaking ranks as the only rider to start with a hard rear tyre. Though the move didn’t pay off he held on for 14th, a massive improvement of his previous best finish of 22nd as a wild-card entry.

The final point on offer went to Zulfahmi Khairuddin for Ongetta-AirAsia in 15th.

After progressing to fifth by turn one SaxoPrint-RTG’s John McPhee had his handlebars clipped by Navarro in the fourth turn, ending his hopes and pushing Alexis Masbou and Niklas Ajo Husqvarna out of contention at the same time.

Masbou may have staged an amazing recovery but Ajo’s return to the action ended in retirement after another crash for the Finn with 14 laps remaining.

Also failing to go the distance was Kiefer rider Gabriel Ramos, Bryan Schouten, Matteo Ferrari and fellow Italians Francesco Bagnaia and Alessandro Tonucci both of whom attempted to rejoin the race before entering the pits.


1257Efren VAZQUEZSPASaxoPrint-RTGHonda146.739’12.977
2205Romano FENATIITASKY Racing Team VR46KTM146.7+0.065
3168Jack MILLERAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM146.7+0.219
41310Alexis MASBOUFRAOngetta-RivacoldHonda146.7+0.372
51142Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0Honda146.6+0.719
61012Alex MARQUEZSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0Honda146.6+1.013
7944Miguel OLIVEIRAPORMahindra RacingMahindra146.6+1.310
8858Juanfran GUEVARASPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM146.6+1.895
9741Brad BINDERRSAAmbrogio RacingMahindra146.6+2.037
10684Jakub KORNFEILCZECalvo TeamKTM146.5+2.261
11533Enea BASTIANINIITAJunior Team GO&FUN Moto3KTM146.5+3.432
12452Danny KENTGBRRed Bull Husqvarna AjoHusqvarna146.4+4.439
13398Karel HANIKACZERed Bull KTM AjoKTM146.1+9.598
14299Jorge NAVARROSPAMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex KTM146.1+9.680
15163Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALOngetta-AirAsiaHonda145.7+16.399
1695Jules DANILOFRAAmbrogio RacingMahindra145.7+16.431
1732Isaac VIÑALESSPACalvo TeamKTM145.7+16.605
1823Niccolò ANTONELLIITAJunior Team GO&FUN Moto3KTM145.7+16.661
1943Luca GRÜNWALDGERKiefer RacingKalex KTM145.4+20.791
2065Philipp OETTLGERInterwetten Paddock Moto3Kalex KTM145.4+21.023
2161Arthur SISSISAUSMahindra RacingMahindra145.2+23.846
2257Eric GRANADOBRACalvo TeamKTM145.2+24.100
239Scott DEROUENEDRW Racing GPKalex KTM144.4+36.525
2438Hafiq AZMIMALSIC-AJOKTM143.9+45.844
2555Andrea LOCATELLIITASan Carlo Team ItaliaMahindra143.6+50.228
2622Ana CARRASCOSPARW Racing GPKalex KTM143.5+52.806
2751Bryan SCHOUTENNEDCIPMahindra143.0+1’00.639
Not Classified
21Francesco BAGNAIAITASKY Racing Team VR46KTM139.810 Laps
19Alessandro TONUCCIITACIPMahindra137.910 Laps
31Niklas AJOFINAvant Tecno Husqvarna AjoHusqvarna145.214 Laps
4Gabriel RAMOSVENKiefer RacingKalex KTM138.621 Laps
3Matteo FERRARIITASan Carlo Team ItaliaMahindra137.721 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
17John MCPHEEGBRSaxoPrint-RTGHonda0 Lap
Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Follow by Email